Wingspan wins top honors at national conference

LCCC’s student newspaper, Wingspan, has claimed back-to-back first-place honors in the national Best of Show competition, sponsored by the Associated Collegiate Press.

The October 2014 issue, edited by Samantha Weaver and Erica Klimt, was named best two-year college newspaper in a tabloid format. Wingspan has dominated this competition, taking first place in 2013 and second place in the two years prior.

Former Wingspan editor Ike Fredregill was honored with two ACP Pacemaker awards, unofficially known as the Pulitzer Prize of student journalism. Competing with major four-year universities, he took second place in the environmental photograph category for a picture of an LCCC tutor.

Fredregill also earned honorable mention in editorial writing for a piece on LCCC’s service learning program. In addition, the Wingspan staff received honorable mention for an informational graphic on the history of the Veterans of Foreign Wars’ buddy poppy program.

In conjunction with the ACP, the College Media Association announced its national Pinnacle Awards at the convention in Philadelphia, which attracted thousands of college journalists.

Wingspan took third place in the category of two-year less-than-weekly newspaper of the year. First and second places went to Santa Ana College in Los Angeles and Pima Community College in Tucson. Editors for the Wingspan issues submitted for judging were Kasey M. Orr, Amanda Neely Herring, Brooke A. Rogers and Daniel Martinez.

Advisers for the newspaper are Rosalind Schliske and J.L. O’Brien.